Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

PhD Graduate Program Guide

Purpose of This Guide

This document has been prepared to answer common questions about the PhD programs offered by the UTA Computer Science and Engineering Department. It supplements the UTA Graduate Catalog with specific information for the program. Nothing herein is intended to conflict with information in the Catalog. Italicized items have their own definition elsewhere in this document.

All students are expected to be familiar with appropriate sections of this Graduate Program Guide and the information herein before seeking advice from the Graduate Advisor. All PhD students must check their e-mail on the Cse account frequently as any communication on PhD related matters will be conveyed by this e-mail.

The University, College and Department

The University of Texas at Arlington is a 110-year-old, comprehensive research, teaching and public service institution located in the heart of the dynamic Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. It is the second largest component of the world-renowned University of Texas System and the sixth largest university in Texas.

The University of Texas at Arlington is located in the heart of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, one of the fastest growing areas in the nation. UTA has emerged as a comprehensive teaching, research and public service university. UTA offers 84 baccalaureate, 69 masters and 30 doctoral degrees within nine academic units and a graduate school. A modern 390-acre campus a few blocks from downtown Arlington offers easy access to museums, concerts, ballet, theater, family recreation, professional sports and other interests.

With an enrollment of approximately 25,000 students, UTA is the second largest of the 15 institutions in The University of Texas System. The student body has become increasingly diversified with students representing 47 states and 150 countries.

The University's academic units include the School of Architecture, College of Business Administration, College of Engineering, College of Liberal Arts, School of Nursing, College of Science, School of Social Work, School of Urban and Public Affairs, and the Center for Professional Teacher Education. Additionally, the Graduate School oversees the administration of academic programs beyond the baccalaureate level.

In response to societal needs, UTA has evolved into a university of renown within the state and of emerging position nationally and internationally. The University's history of achievement can be attributed to a faculty of increasing competence and accomplishments; a student body of higher qualifications and greater diversity; a record of growing success by graduates in their respective disciplines; and the maturation of the Dallas/Fort Worth area as a nationally and internationally significant metropolis.

University was elevated to senior college status in 1959 and was transferred from the Texas A&M System to The University of Texas System in 1965. Its final name change came in 1967, when it became The University of Texas at Arlington. The College of Engineering with 4000 students is the third largest in Texas. The college presently has approximately 120 faculty and is aggressively recruiting in several key areas. The goals of the College are to provide quality engineering education at both graduate and undergraduate levels and to provide a research and educational resource to technology-based enterprises in North Texas. The research community accesses computing resources locally and elsewhere as appropriate. The College seeks to disseminate engineering expertise in the North Texas area to students at the graduate level in local industry and other academic institutions through the TAGER Network, by sponsoring seminars on campus (e.g., UTA Teleconferences), and by individual contacts on a formal or informal basis.

UTA is emerging as a major national research institution. An important strategy in this emergence is the channeling of resources, intramural and external, into carefully chosen problem areas in which initial capability already exists, which relate to regional interests, and which show promise for significant contribution to national concerns. For example, the first in a series of premier research programs in The University of Texas System is UTA's Automation and Robotics Research Institute (ARRI) aimed at enhancing high technology in Texas and the U.S.

Historically, the computer science program at UTA started in the early 1970's as a master's level program within Industrial Engineering. A Ph.D. program was started a few years later. The bachelor's degree was first offered in 1978. A separate Computer Science and Engineering Department was established in 1980. Since the program's inception, there has been a steady growth in enrollment and quality. The undergraduate program was the first in the state to be accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and also carries Computing Sciences Accreditation Board (CSAB) accreditation. Current undergraduate enrollment exceeds sevenhundred (700). The graduate programs currently enroll three hundred eighty (380) at the master's level and ninety (90) at the doctoral level. Graduates are readily recruited by industry and can be found in exciting computer-related positions throughout the area and the nation.

<< Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | Next >>