Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Filter




Tenure Track


Ishfaq Ahmad Ishfaq Ahmad | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
iahmad@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-1526 | ERB - 527 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Sustainable Computing
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: multimedia systems;video compression;web computing

Vassilis Athitsos Vassilis Athitsos | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
athitsos@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 623 | Office Hrs: MW 12:00p-1:30p
Primary Research Area: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Additional Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Gesture Recognition; Sign Language Recognition; Human Motion Analysis; Face Recognition

William Beksi William Beksi | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
william.beksi@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3602 | ERB - 523 | Office Hrs: TR 2:00p-3:00p
Primary Research Area: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: Robotics; Computer Vision; Artificial Intelligence; Applied Topology

Bill Carroll Bill Carroll | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
carroll@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 521 | Office Hrs: MTR 3:30p-5:00p and W 4:00p-6:00p
Primary Research Area: Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing

Sharma Chakravarthy Sharma Chakravarthy | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
sharmac@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-2082 | ERB - 632 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Database and Information Systems
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Research Interests: database mining;knowledge discovery;data warehouse;information integration;push technology (active capability) for large network- centric environments;big data analytics

Hao Che Hao Che | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
hche@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3631 | ERB - 536 | Office Hrs: F 5:00p-6:00p
Primary Research Area: Computer Networks
Additional Research Areas: Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: Internet distributed traffic control; content-centric networking; software-defined networking; Internet router interface programming; multicore processor and warehouse-scale computer analysis and resource management

Christoph Csallner Christoph Csallner | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
csallner@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 554 | Office Hrs: MW 12:00p-12:45p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Additional Research Areas: Security and Privacy
Research Interests: software engineering;program analysis;automated testing

Gautam Das Gautam Das | Faculty Profile | Website
Distinguished University Chair Professor
gdas@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 626 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Additional Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: big data analytics;deep web and social media mining;databases exploration;Information retrieval;statistical and combinatorial algorithms

Chris Ding Chris Ding | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
chqding@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-7041 | ERB - 529 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Additional Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: matrix-based machine learning;tensors;social networks

Ramez Elmasri Ramez Elmasri | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Associate Chair
elmasri@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-2348 | ERB - 634 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Database and Information Systems
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: spatial databases;spatio-temporal data analysis and mining;data modeling and summarization;converting data to knowledge;distributed computing;map data integration

Leonidas Fegaras Leonidas Fegaras | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
fegaras@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 653 | Office Hrs: TR 3:30p-5:00p
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Additional Research Areas: Database and Information Systems
Research Interests: database query processing and optimization;web databases and XML;functional programming languages;formal semantics

Jean Gao Jean Gao | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
gao@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3628 | ERB - 538 | Office Hrs: TR 12:30p-1:30p
Primary Research Area: Biocomputing and Health Informatics
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: biomedical and health informatics;big data analysis;machine learning;data mining;pattern recognition

Junzhou Huang Junzhou Huang | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
jzhuang@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-9596 | ERB - 650 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Additional Research Areas: Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: sparse learning;medical informatics

Manfred Huber Manfred Huber | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
huber@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-2345 | ERB - 522 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: autonomous robot systems;sensor-driven robotics;machine learning;development of intelligent behavior

Mohammad Islam Mohammad Islam | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
mislam@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 651 | Office Hrs: TR 3:30p-4:30p
Primary Research Area: Security and Privacy
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Security and Privacy, Sustainable Computing

Hong Jiang Hong Jiang | Faculty Profile | Website
Nedderman Professor and Chair
hong.jiang@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3605 | ERB - 639 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Additional Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Sustainable Computing

Song  Jiang Song Jiang | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
| Ph: | SEIR - 319 | Office Hrs: MW 10:00a-11:00a

Farhad Kamangar Farhad Kamangar | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
kamangar@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3617 | ERB - 524 | Office Hrs: W 2:00p-6:00p
Primary Research Area: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Additional Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: computer vision;image processing;artificial intelligence;data mining;signal processing;neural networks;visualization

Won Hwa Kim Won Hwa Kim | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
won.kim@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-6769 | SEIR - 324 | Office Hrs: MW 11:00a-12:00p
Primary Research Area: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Additional Research Areas: Biocomputing and Health Informatics, Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Machine Learning; Computer Vision; Harmonic Analysis; NeuroImaging

David Kung David Kung | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Director of the UG Software Engineering Program
kung@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 532 | Office Hrs: TR 2:30p-3:30p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Additional Research Areas: Security and Privacy
Research Interests: agile methods; object-oriented software engineering; testing object-oriented software; software methodology; software design patterns; automated software engineering; software security

Jeff (Yu) Lei Jeff (Yu) Lei | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
ylei@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 531 | Office Hrs: T 12:30p-1:30p and R 10:00a-11:00a
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Research Interests: software security

Chengkai Li Chengkai Li | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
cli@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-0162 | ERB - 628 | Office Hrs: R 2:00p-3:00p
Primary Research Area: Database and Information Systems
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: computational journalism; natural language processing; usability challenges in querying graph data; data-driven fact-checking; exceptional fact finding; applied machine learning

Ming Li Ming Li | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
ming.li@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 536 | Office Hrs: MW 2:30p-3:30p
Primary Research Area: Security and Privacy
Additional Research Areas: Computer Networks, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing
Research Interests: Crowd and social sensing; privacy-preserving computing; user authentication; blockchain

Yonghe Liu Yonghe Liu | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
yonghe@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 537 | Office Hrs: TR 10:00a-11:00a
Primary Research Area: Computer Networks
Additional Research Areas: Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: internet of things; sensor networks; next generation networks; opportunistic networks; mobile applications

Fillia Makedon Fillia Makedon | Faculty Profile | Website
Jenkins-Garrett Professor
makedon@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3605 | ERB - 624 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Additional Research Areas: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: human computer interaction;assistive technologies;pervasive computing;assistive robotics;computer aided rehabilitation.;Cyberphysical Systems

Jiang Ming Jiang Ming | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
jiang.ming@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-0906 | ERB - 528 | Office Hrs: T 10:30a-12:00a
Primary Research Area: Security and Privacy
Additional Research Areas: Software Engineering
Research Interests: software security and malware defense;program analysis and verification for security issues;binary difference analysis;secure information flow analysis;malicious code analysis.

Shirin Nilizadeh Shirin Nilizadeh | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
shirin.nilizadeh@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 530 | Office Hrs: F 10:00a-12:00p
Primary Research Area: Security and Privacy
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Security Analytics, IoT, Blockchain, Social Computing

Deokgun Park Deokgun Park | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
deokgun.park@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 533 | Office Hrs: W 1:00p-2:00p
Primary Research Area: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Additional Research Areas: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: visual analytics; information visualization

Lynn Peterson Lynn Peterson | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
peterson@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-5503 | ERB - 534 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Robotics and AI
Research Interests: knowledge representation;artificial intelligence applicationsIntelligent Computer-based Instructional Systems, Medical Computer Science.;Engineering education

Jia Rao Jia Rao | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
Jia.rao@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-0770 | ERB - 649 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Additional Research Areas: Sustainable Computing
Research Interests: operating systems;virtualization;parallel and distributed computing;multicore architecture;and reinforcement learning

Bob Weems Bob Weems | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Director of the UG Computer Science Program
weems@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 627 | Office Hrs: MW 2:30p-3:30p and TR 2:00p-3:00p

Dajiang Zhu Dajiang Zhu | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
dajiang.zhu@uta.edu | Ph: | SEIR - 323 | Office Hrs: TR 10:00a-11:00a
Primary Research Area: Biocomputing and Health Informatics
Additional Research Areas: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: Medical Imaging; Computational Neuroscience

Non-Tenure Track


Linda Barasch Linda Barasch | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor of Instruction and Lead UG Advisor
barasch@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-9763 | ERB - 643 | Office Hrs: T 11:00a-1:00p and W 10:00a - 12:00p

Darin Brezeale Darin Brezeale | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor of Instruction
darin.brezeale@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-3785 | ERB - 648 | Office Hrs:

Christopher Conly Christopher Conly | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
chris.conly@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 642 | Office Hrs: TR 12:30p-1:30p
Primary Research Area: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence

Ronald E. Cross Ronald E. Cross | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
recross@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-1728 | ERB - 549 | Office Hrs: T 12:30p-1:45p

Sajib Datta Sajib Datta | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer and Graduate Advisor
sajib.datta@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-0161 | ERB - 652 | Office Hrs: MW 1:00p-2:30p

Elizabeth Diaz Elizabeth Diaz | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
Elizabeth.diaz@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-0741 | ERB - 555 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Research Interests: Mobile Development Application

Chance Eary Chance Eary | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
chance.eary@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 647 | Office Hrs: MW 12:00p-1:00p
Primary Research Area: Computer Networks
Additional Research Areas: Database and Information Systems, Security and Privacy
Research Interests: opportunistic networks; opportunistic computing; mobile distributed systems; pervasive computing

Shawn Gieser Shawn Gieser | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
shawn.gieser@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-7229 | ERB - 644 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Research Interests: Human Computer Interaction; Motion Tracking; Virtual Reality; Virtual Rehabilitation

Vamsikrishna Gopikrishna Vamsikrishna Gopikrishna | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
vamsikrishna.gopikrishna@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-6739 | ERB - 553 | Office Hrs: MW 10:00a-11:30a and TR 5:30p-7:00p
Primary Research Area: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Additional Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Robotics and AI

Bahram Khalili Bahram Khalili | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor of Instruction and Graduate Advisor
khalili@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-5407 | ERB - 629 | Office Hrs: TR 11:00a-12:30p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Research Interests: software engineering processes; Software Cost Estimation; Agile methodology; Software Engineering Management

David Levine David Levine | Faculty Profile | Website
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
davel@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-2349 | ERB - 525 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Big Data and Large-Scale Computing
Research Interests: software engineering;systems;distributed-networked objects;operating systems

Jason Losh Jason Losh | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor in Practice
| Ph: | - | Office Hrs: TR 2:30p-4:30p

Chris McMurrough Chris McMurrough | Faculty Profile | Website
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
mcmurrough@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-1034 | ERB - 511 | Office Hrs:
Primary Research Area: Robotics and AI
Additional Research Areas: Computer Vision and Multimedia, Embedded Systems and Mobile Computing
Research Interests: perceptual computing for robotics and embedded systems;assistive devices

John Robb John Robb | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
john.robb@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-7457 | ERB - 646 | Office Hrs: TR 2:00p-3:00p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Additional Research Areas: Software Engineering

Alexandra Stefan Alexandra Stefan | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor of Instruction
astefan@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 625 | Office Hrs: MW 2:30p-3:00p and TR 12:30p-1:30p
Primary Research Area: Computer Vision and Multimedia
Additional Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining

Carter Tiernan Carter Tiernan | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Dean, Associate Professor of Instruction, and Director of Outreach
tiernan@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-1295 | NH - 620 | Office Hrs: MTR 1:30p-3:00p
Primary Research Area: Robotics and AI
Additional Research Areas: Machine Learning and Data Mining
Research Interests: engineering education; computational thinking

Adjunct Faculty


Giri Amaravadi Giri Amaravadi | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
giridhar.amaravadi@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 551 | Office Hrs: T 6:00p-7:00p

Trevor Bakker Trevor Bakker | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
trevor.bakker@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 338 | Office Hrs: MW 8:30p-10:30a

Brian Dalio Brian Dalio | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
brian.dalio@uta.edu | Ph: 817-272-6738 | ERB - 557 | Office Hrs: TRF 7:00p-8:30p

Ranjan Dash Ranjan Dash | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
ranjan.dash@mavs.uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 339 | Office Hrs:

Jimmie Davis Jimmie Davis | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
jimmie.davis@uta.edu | Ph: 817-323-7143 | ERB - 320 | Office Hrs: MW 8:30p-9:00p and TR 2:00p-3:00p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Additional Research Areas: Software Engineering

Dennis Frailey Dennis Frailey | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
frailey@dfwair.net | Ph: | ERB - 402 | Office Hrs: F 4:00p-5:00p and F 12:00p-1:00p
Primary Research Area: Software Engineering
Research Interests: Software Metrics;Software Quality Engineering;Software Project Management;Computer Architecture;Engineering Process Improvement (Cycle Time Reduction, etc)

Donna French Donna French | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
donna.french@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 338 | Office Hrs: MWF 10:30a-12:30p and MF 2:30p-4:00p and TR 10:00a-12:00p

Kelly French Kelly French | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
kelly.french@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 338 | Office Hrs: W 7:00p-8:00p
Primary Research Area: Security and Privacy

Jesus Gonzalez Jesus Gonzalez | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
jesus.gonzalezbernal@uta.edu | Ph: | ERB - 321 | Office Hrs: MWF 10:00-11:00a and F 9:00a-11:00a