Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Grid View

Ishfaq AhmadIshfaq Ahmad | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
iahmad@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-1526 | ERB - 527 | Office Hrs:
Multimedia systems, Video compression, Web Computing, Parallel and Distributed Computing, Parallel Algorithms

Vassilis AthitsosVassilis Athitsos | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
athitsos@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0155 | ERB - 623 | Office Hrs:
Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Pattern Recognition, Data Mining, Gesture and Sign Language Recognition, Medical Image Analysis, Image and Video Databases.

Linda BaraschLinda Barasch | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer and Lead UG Advisor
barasch@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3638 | ERB - 643 | Office Hrs:

Eric BeckerEric Becker | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor
becker@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-5128 | ERB - 642 | Office Hrs: MT: 1:30 - 2:50p

Darin BrezealeDarin Brezeale | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
darin.brezeale@uta.edu |Ph: N/A | ERB - 648 | Office Hrs: TR: 2:00 - 3:00p

Bill CarrollBill Carroll | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
carroll@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3787 | ERB - 521 | Office Hrs:
Fault-Tolerant Computing,Parallel Computing, Real-Time Computing,Engineering Education,Logic Design

Sharma ChakravarthySharma Chakravarthy | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
sharmac@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2082 | ERB - 632 | Office Hrs: TR; 2:00 - 3:30p
Database Mining, Knowledge Discovery, Data warehouse, Information Integration, Push technology (Active capability) for large network- centric environments, Real-Time Databases

Hao CheHao Che | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
hche@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3631 | ERB - 536 | Office Hrs: MW: 2:00 - 4:00p
Network architecture and design, Network resource management, Multiservice switching architecture, Network processor design

Christoph CsallnerChristoph Csallner | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
csallner@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3334 | ERB - 554 | Office Hrs: MW: 1:45 - 3:40p
Software Engineering, program analysis, automated testing

Gautam DasGautam Das | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
gdas@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7595 | ERB - 626 | Office Hrs:
Data mining, data exploration, relational and heterogeneous databases, information retrieval, applied algorithms, computational geometry

Chris DingChris Ding | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
chqding@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7041 | ERB - 529 | Office Hrs:
Data Mining, Machine Learning, Bioinformatics, Bio-Social-Information Networks

Ramez ElmasriRamez Elmasri | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor, Graduate Advisor, and Associate Chair
elmasri@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2348 | ERB - 634/654 | Office Hrs: MW: 2:00 - 3:00p ADVISING: MW: 3:30 - 5:00p
Database Systems and Applications, Bioinformatics, Sensor Networks, Temporal Databases, Conceptual Modeling, Object-oriented Databases, Database Models and Languages, Systems Integration.

Leonidas FegarasLeonidas Fegaras | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor
fegaras@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3629 | ERB - 653 | Office Hrs: TR: 4:00 - 5:30p
Database query processing and optimization, object-oriented databases, web databases and XML, functional programming languages, formal semantics.

Jean GaoJean Gao | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
gao@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3628 | ERB - 538 | Office Hrs: MW: 12:00 - 1:00p
Biomedical and Health Informatics, Big Data Analysis, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pattern Recognition

Junzhou HuangJunzhou Huang | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
jzhuang@uta.edu |Ph: 29596 | ERB - 650 | Office Hrs: TR: 1:30 - 3:30p

Heng HuangHeng Huang | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
heng@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7287 | ERB - 533 | Office Hrs: TR: 3:20 - 5:00p
Bioinformatics, Computer Vision, Biomedical Image Computing

Manfred HuberManfred Huber | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
huber@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2345 | ERB - 522 | Office Hrs: TR: 11:00-12:00p and MW: 2:00-3:00p
Autonomous Robot Systems, Sensor-driven Robotics, Machine Learning, Development of Intelligent Behavior.

Taylor JohnsonTaylor Johnson | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
taylor.johnson@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3610 | ERB - 559 | Office Hrs: TR: 3:30 - 4:30p
Cyber-physical systems: real-time, embedded control systems and software; hybrid and distributed systems; software engineering, formal methods, and verification; reliability and fault-tolerance; application areas including robotics, power and energy, aerospace.

Farhad KamangarFarhad Kamangar | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
kamangar@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3617 | ERB - 524 | Office Hrs: TR: 3:30 - 5:30p
Character Recognition, Image Understanding, Motion Detection, Stereo Vision, Neural Networks

Bahram KhaliliBahram Khalili | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer and Graduate Advisor
khalili@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-5407 | ERB - 629 | Office Hrs: TR; 12:30-2:00p
Software Engineering, Distributed Systems, Operating Systems

David KungDavid Kung | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Director of the UG Software Engineering Program
kung@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3627 | ERB - 532 | Office Hrs:
Agile Methods, Object-Oriented Software Testing and Maintenance, Building Secure Systems

Jeff (Yu) LeiJeff (Yu) Lei | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
ylei@cse.uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2341 | ERB - 531 | Office Hrs: TR: 9:30-11:00a
Software Engineering, Distributed Systems, Computer Networks

David LevineDavid Levine | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
levine@cse.uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2349 | ERB - 525 | Office Hrs: MW: 3:00-4:00p and 8:30 - 9:30p
Software Engineering, Systems, Distributed-Networked Objects, Operating Systems

Chengkai LiChengkai Li | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
cli@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0162 | ERB - 628 | Office Hrs:
Database, Data Mining, Information Retrieval, Web Data Management

Yonghe LiuYonghe Liu | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
yonghe@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7606 | ERB - 537 | Office Hrs: TR: 10:00 - 11:00a

Donggang LiuDonggang Liu | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
dliu@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0741 | ERB - 555 | Office Hrs:
Network and Distributed System Security, Privacy, Wireless Networks, Embedded System

Fillia MakedonFillia Makedon | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
makedon@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7405 | ERB - 624 | Office Hrs: Thursday: 2:00 - 4:00p
Bioinformatics, Pervasive Computing, Cybersecurity, Human and Computer Interaction, Sensor networks and Image Processing.

Gian Luca MariottiniGian Luca Mariottini | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
gianluca@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0770 | ERB - 649 | Office Hrs: MW: 1:30 - 3:30p
Robotics, Multi-Robot Systems, Computer Vision, Localization, Medical Applications, Control

Mike O'DellMike O'Dell | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer
odell@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3988 | ERB - 631 | Office Hrs: MW: 2:30 - 4:00p
Computer Networks, Network Applications, Software Engineering

Lynn PetersonLynn Peterson | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Interim Chair
peterson@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3567 | ERB - 639 | Office Hrs: By Appointment
Knowledge Representation, Natural Language Processing, Artificial Intelligence Applications, Intelligent Computer-based Instructional Systems, Medical Computer Science.

Alexandra StefanAlexandra Stefan | Faculty Profile | Website
Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor
astefan@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-7229 | ERB - 644 | Office Hrs: MW:12:00-1:00p and TR: 12:30-1:30p

Carter TiernanCarter Tiernan | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Dean, Senior Lecturer, and Director of Outreach
tiernan@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0113 | NH - 620 | Office Hrs:

Roger WalkerRoger Walker | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
rwalker@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2203 | ERB - 625 | Office Hrs: TR: 2:00 - 3:00p
Microcomputer systems, lasers and optic systems, signal processing, road roughness, and embedded real-time instrumentation and control systems.

Bob WeemsBob Weems | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Director of the UG Computer Science Program
weems@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-2337 | ERB - 627 | Office Hrs: TR: 12:30 - 1:45p
Databases, Parallel Computing, Data Structures, Algorithms, Discrete Optimization

Matthew WrightMatthew Wright | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
mwright@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0906 | ERB - 528 | Office Hrs: MW: 1:00 - 2:00p
Internet security and privacy, anonymity, security for peer-to-peer systems, privacy for ubiquitous computing, sensor network security.

Gergely ZarubaGergely Zaruba | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Director of the UG Computer Engineering Program
zaruba@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3602 | ERB - 523 | Office Hrs: Thursday: 10:00 - 12:00p
Mobile and pervasive devices and technologies, embedded systems, health care systems and networking. More specifically technologies and systems for healthcare, in-home aging, and people with disabilities; wireless localization, in-home wireless networking technologies, next generation wireless networks, network simulation and test bedding.

Research Faculty


Vangelis MetsisVangelis Metsis | Faculty Profile | Website
Research Assistant Professor
vmetsis@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-5459 | ERB - 646 | Office Hrs: MW: 5:30 -7:00p

Feiping NieFeiping Nie | Faculty Profile | Website
Research Assistant Professor
feiping@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-9236 | ERB - 530 | Office Hrs: TBA

International Collaborators and Adjunct Faculty


Trevor BakkerTrevor Bakker | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
trevor.bakker@uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 321 | Office Hrs: MW: 5:00 - 5:20p 7:00 - 8:00p

Sabbatino BiancoSabbatino Bianco | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
N/A |Ph: N/A | N/A - N/A | Office Hrs: N/A

Yuanzhe CaiYuanzhe Cai | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
yuanzhe.cai@mavs.uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 502 | Office Hrs: MW: 9:00 - 11:00a 11:00 - 1:00p

Ben CalloniBen Calloni | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
ben.calloni@uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 402 | Office Hrs: Thursday: 6:00 - 6:50p

Ron E. CrossRon E. Cross | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
recross@uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 549 | Office Hrs: MW: 2:00 - 3:50p

Sajib DattaSajib Datta | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
sajib.datta@mavs.uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 422 | Office Hrs: TR: 2:00 - 3:30p

Mario Di FrancescoMario Di Francesco | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
mariodf@uta.edu |Ph: +358 50 5975 25 | N/A - N/A | Office Hrs: N/A

Dennis FraileyDennis Frailey | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
frailey@dfwair.net |Ph: | ERB - 402 | Office Hrs: by appointment before and after class

Giacomo GhidiniGiacomo Ghidini | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
giacomo@uta.edu |Ph: N/A | ERB - 338 | Office Hrs: N/A

Ishtiqaue HussainIshtiqaue Hussain | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
ishtiaque.hussain@mavs.uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 322 | Office Hrs: TR: 6:00 - 7:00p

Vangelis KarkaletsisVangelis Karkaletsis | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
vangelis@iit.demokritos.gr |Ph: +30 210 6503197 | N/A - NA | Office Hrs: TBA

Fred KashefiFred Kashefi | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
fkashefi@uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 340 | Office Hrs: TR: 10:00 - 12:00p

Mohan KumarMohan Kumar | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
mkumar@uta.edu |Ph: N/A | N/A - N/A | Office Hrs: N/A
pervasive computing, wireless networks and mobility, sensor systems, information processing and distributed computing.

Terrance MooreTerrance Moore | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
terrance.j.moore@me.com |Ph: | ERB - 339 | Office Hrs: TR: 6:00 - 7:00p

Stephen MorganStephen Morgan | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
morgans@uta.edu |Ph: N/A | ERB - 651 | Office Hrs: MWF: 1:00 - 2:00p

Stavros PerantonisStavros Perantonis | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
sper@iit.demokritos.gr |Ph: 30 210 6503174 | N/A - NA | Office Hrs: TBA

Eknauth PersaudEknauth Persaud | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
eknauth.persaud@uta.edu |Ph: | ERB - 551 | Office Hrs: T: 4:30 - 5:30p

Dick SchoechDick Schoech | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
schoech@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-3964 | ERB - 402 | Office Hrs: TBA

Jeff SmithJeff Smith | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
N/A |Ph: N/A | N/A - N/A | Office Hrs: N/A

Joe WignerJoe Wigner | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
joe.wigner@gmail.com |Ph: | ERB - 321 | Office Hrs: TR: 7:00 - 8:00p

Dimitrios ZikosDimitrios Zikos | Faculty Profile | Website
Adjunct Faculty
zikos@uta.edu |Ph: 817-272-0161 | ERB - 652 | Office Hrs: MW: 11:00-12:00p and TR: 12:30 -1:30p